Germanic Elder Futhark


Elder Futhark

The Elder Futhark is the oldest form of the runic alphabet being used from the 2nd to the 8th century.

The Elder Futhark is named after the first 6 runes: F, U, Th, A, R, K. It consists of 24 characters and is often arranged into 3 sets, groups or aett. These are freya's eight, hagal's eight and tyr's eight.

Examples of the full rune sets with names, meanings, letters and divinatory means can be found by clicking the links to the side of the page or the icons below.

Freyas Eight Runes Set Hagals Eight Runes Set Tyrs Eight Runes Set

Copyright ©2001-2021 of UponReflection. Web design and search engine optimisation by KukaStudios
Privacy Policy